Transylvania’s Dracula 

“We are in Transylvania, and Transylvania is not England…and there shall be to you, many strange things.” – Bram Stoker, Dracula

I’m just back from Transylvania and we did see “strange things” but it wasn’t anything to do with Dracula. Yet, there’s an atmosphere there that is indescribable. Yeah, I’m a writer, so it shouldn’t be indescribable. The nearest I can come to is: ‘dark’…’special’…’secretive’…’scary’…’magical’… ‘alluring’…’gloomy’

I read Dracula as we snaked our way through the awe-inspiring Carpathian mountains and it really was as if I was Jonathan Harker on my way to madness…and we did see a little madness.

Leave a Reply

