Hide the Elephant and The Pixies

Readers ask me if I listen to music while I write. The answer is yes, mainly soundtrack tunes because I find that lyrics jar with the words in my head, so avoid songs generally. However, if one song in particular captures the atmosphere of the writing, then I will put this on a 24-hr loop and listen to it all day. For my new book, Hide the Elephant, I’ve been listening to the Pixies’ ‘Where is my Mind’ because it sums up my main character’s plight in life. Thankfully, The Pixies themselves have agreed to be part of my book and its an honour to have them in the book. Keep an eye out for the scene where they appear playing their hit song ‘Where is my Mind’. If you’re wondering which song it is, then listen to the end credits of the movie Fight Club…

Leave a Reply

