5 interstellar Amazon.com stars from Susan in New York for LDL

5.0 out of 5 stars
 
 
Format:Kindle Edition
When a wacky romantic of an Irish Postman meets a gypsy with negligible powers, a series of unbelievably crazy happenings occur. What else would you expect from a book by Jonathan Dunne?

Thus begins my review of Living Dead Lovers, by Jonathan Dunne. Mr. Dunne has an undeniable gift for writing ironic comedy which seems to transcend our beliefs of what is possible. Line after line, paragraph after paragraph, and page after unbelievable page, his characters go through the trials and tribulations of their lives. I find the experience of reading Jonathan Dunne’s books to provide much needed escapes.

If you have read his first book, Balloon Animals (my Amazon review here: http://www.amazon.com/review/R3F6NEEU2TY31Y/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm) you will see the circumstances of how I came to discover its charm, and the writing of Jonathan Dunne, in general. I also interview him about that book, here: http://wp.me/p35Mk4-3c.

I chose to read Living Dead Lovers, his second novel, during another stressful time, and as I hoped, it truly delivered. From the opening line of the story, you can tell this book will be different. It is a fictional memoir (at least I certainly hope it’s fictional!) and brings you, The Reader, into the lives of Willy the postman, Nicolasia the wanna-be-powerful gypsy, and Cabbage, their clairvoyant daughter. We are taken on the road with these three characters as they live the lives of gypsies in their broken down two-tone caravan.

To say that this book is funny is a gross understatement. From the moment that Willy meets Nicolasia, to conception in a raunchy toilet stall, to the birth of their baby, to the tattoo parlor, and so on, my sides hurt from laughing; from page 1! But this book also had some very tender and sweet moments. I found myself feeling deeply for the characters, especially Cabbage who doesn’t seem to understand why she is the way she is. I felt for the ghosts who visited her and for her guardian angel, Mr. Brick. This book has a lot to offer.

It should be noted that this book does contain some dark topics, and some risqué scenes. Mr. Dunne treads the line well.

Jonathan Dunne has agreed to participate in another interview on my blog soon, and I look forward to publishing his responses. I am so glad to have discovered this author. I hope you will too!

 
Leave a Reply

