Rituals

As I write ‘quirky’ comedies, readers sometimes ask me if I have any odd writing rituals. One ritual is to ring my hotel reception bell twice before I begin writing. I’m checking into a world that I know but is oddly off-kilter. Hotels always strike me as home but not home – something familiar yet strange staying in hotels that are welcoming yet have seen so much life and where characters reside. Also, if I find myself wandering off I ring that bell which drags me back to that reception desk. Ding! Ding!

Leave a Reply

